With the retirement of a number of long-serving players from first grade and the transfer of a number of others from the district and to other clubs, the first grade took on a “new-look” during this period.

In the midst of all the changes there was to be one constant that remained – that was David Rutherford who played for the entire eleven seasons and continued to pick up “a swag of wickets” each season. Another who played for most of the period was opening batsman and long- serving Club-man, Doug Rawling.

However, the retirement from first grade of Colin Johnston, Alan Johnston, and Robin Cotton, as well as the transfer from the district and to other Clubs in the late sixties by John Cox, Allan Elliott, Glenn Brooker and Jeff Crittenden, opened the way for “some new faces” in the first grade line-up.

Among these was a promising crop of youngsters with players such as David and Peter Rawling, David Johnston, Michael Cox, Will Callinan, Alan Mudd, Patrick Moylan, Les Vickery, Phil Warby. George Wolstenholme Jnr, Philip York, Paul Hewitt and Des Hitchcock.

Up until 1971 the veteran Keith Smith continued to open the bowling with Warren Trappel. When Keith stepped down Trevor Deamer opened up the attack, and then later on Les Vickery was promoted to first grade to fill the gap created by Warren’s transfer to another club.

In the spin department David Rutherford was the stock bowler and was backed up at various stages by Peter Rawling and Phil Warby. The Club was particularly well-served during this period by wicket-keepers. Following the transfer of Colin Elliott, the gloves were donned by Jeff Crittenden, who in turn was followed by David Johnston, Michael Cox and Will Callinan.

The captaincy of the side changed on a number of occasions. Starting off with John Cox, the role was subsequently taken on by David Rutherford, Doug Rawling, David Rawling, Trevor Deamer and Jeff Crittenden.